HML for property intended for keeping

Hello all. I’m a newbie with the drive to begin wholesaling properties. Thanks to the forums I am pretty clear with the process and direction I need. My purpose is to build investment capital by first flipping the properties. In this process I hope to find a property to keep for my growing family(2 kids, smile) which is where I have a question.

Can a HML be used for a property you wish to keep? assuming the purchase price/ARV margin is capable of absorbing repairs, closing costs, etc. when you refinance after repairs… ???

The only difficulty with this strategy is that you may not be able to use FHA loan programs or any lender with a seasoning requirement. Any mortgage broker should still be able to help you out with financing on the back-end.

I wouldn’t do an HML on it, only because they are meant to be really short term like a year or less, which won’t give you much time to refi. But if you are actually talking about keeping the HML on it without doing a refi that is a def. no, it’s not possible. Now getting money from a private lender is diffrent. As always I recommend, overborrowing, so you can get enough cash back at close to repair, and put some in your pocket, negotiate a 3 year no payment ballon, with an attractive interest rate, and it’s all good. Work on it, and sit on it for a while, not too lonf then do a refi. Ohh I think DiTech doesn’t have a seasoning req for a refi, just in case you still ant to do the HML with a quick refit which I still don’t recommend. :wink:

I was under the impression you can’t “pocket” extra money at closing from a HML. Is this incorrect?