HELP...They're taking my signs!!!

I’ve been investing for about 10 months now. Picked up 11 properties (single family) and the “bandit signs” I put out can’t make it 24 hrs on the street corner. Initially they would sit for a week or two but now…haaa!! I’ve read the city ordinance, and yes I can’t do this and must do that but even if I follow the rules, my signs are still disappearing.
I actually had a gentlemen call me and tell me he was with the city and has all of my signs. He would be willing to sell them back to me at $2 a pop!! What the hell?!?!
Can anyone recomend a cost effective way of letting people know I have homes available?
I’ve tried the paper (way too expensive $100 for 3 days) I’ve also tried a “Pick Your Neighbor” campaign. Offered $100 for referrals…no luck. Any Suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the wonderful world of bandit signs. ::slight_smile: It sounds like you’re on CAUSS’s radar (http://www.causs.org/)! Bottom line (as you know) is that it’s illegal to put that stuff in public easement or on private property without permission. Anyone who chooses to use this method of advertising runs the risk of having this problem; its the price you pay for cheap advertising. The only other suggestion I can give you is to try billboards (which are very cost effective) or make arrangements with private property owners to put signs on their properties. It sounds like you need to allocate more money from the deals you close to advertising to keep your business going. Legal advertising often isn’t cheap, but it does pay for itself in the long run if you plan correctly.

HTH,

Paul

If you’re working within the guidelines then it shouldn’t be the city that’s taking them down. It’s probably sign-haters or realtors.

There are tons of things you can do to keep them up, here are a few:

Practical:

1. Put them as high up on poles as possible.
  2. Place them 3 or 4 poles up the street from intersections.

Humorous: