Help! Potential 1st Deal, but owner not in the United States

I’m a newbie to contract assignments and possibly have my 1st deal underway. I found a property that matched the criteria I was looking for that would make a good deal for all parties involved. I found the property online and contacted the owner via email from the listing. The owner accepted the offer, but he is in Australia.

Since I’m a newbie, I want to make sure everything goes smooth and would like to know if there’s anything that I need to be aware of when transacting with a seller that’s not in the states.

I need all safeguards in place and since I’m assigning this contract, I don’t want to ruin my reputation with the buyer.

BTW, Nothing has been signed.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

I would be very weary of that transaction. Yes the owner could be in Australia but it could also be a scam via internet. Pull the property records and find the address of the property and make sure it verifies with what they owner is telling you. Be careful, for your first transaction, i would hate for your to be messed over.

I agree that it’s totally possible everything is on the up and up, but it’s also possible that something is not right here. You might consider partnering with a more experienced investor with the experience and resources to make sure everything is handled correctly. Approach any of the veteran wholesalers in your area, offer them 50% of the profits to basically look over your shoulder, maybe borrow some advise from them or their title agent/lawyer. If you can clear $8-$10,000 and they get 1/2 of that for answering a few phone calls from you, I’d say that’s a win-win.

Best of luck.