Have shortsales suddenly become more difficult to do for investors?

I’ve heard rumors from some local RE-Investors in my area that lenders are not wanting to work with them anymore on short sales. Is anyone else seeing anything like this? Or are these scare tactics since I’m a noob ?

thanks,

Q

TOTAL MYTH!

It’s about the math. Good, experienced realtors know how to submit the calculations necessary to satisfy the lender’s bottom line - which is to make most money possible in the disposition of a distressed property. If the calculation show that your buyer’s bid will net them even $1 more than a foreclosure, they cannot refuse 9or their audtiors will have their heads.)

The only reason that realtors are avoiding short sale listings is that most don’t know how to do it properly and are getting rejected by lenders. Short sales are a fantastic way to get in on an investment - many short sales can be had for less than the REO on the same block.

These days, the short sale opportunties are from properties with no equity. I don’t know about other RE-investors, but my market is still in flux and probably declining. I won’t pay 85% of the loan amount in a short sale if the property might lose 10 or 15% next year when real estate hits a bottom in my market.

I am offering 35 to 50 cents on the dollar and the lenders are balking. They are relying on comparables from 6 to 12 months ago without taking our declining market into account. I am willing to buy at 85% of next years price, but not 85% of last years price. The lenders don’t see my point of view.

If you dont buy at less than 50 cents then youre not doing your job… We must convince the lender that our price is their best option.

Here in Michigan, I have students that are total newbies that are getting 50% off on short sale deals in suburbs all day long. Thats really the norm.

A lot of it has to do with your short sale package and how your closing (cash or financing) and how how soon you can close.