Hard Money to Conventional Loan

Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum and love all the information that I’m gathering.

I have finally saved up enough money for the for a 20% to 30% down for a second property.
I’m thinking about getting private money for the following reason:

1. My credit is around the low 600’s (its currently being worked on and should be in the upper 600’s in a few months).
  2. I could close a deal allot quicker

So I understand that I would have to put in 20-30% money for the down payment. I’m wondering if I can roll into a conventional loan within 60 days after the house has been purchased and fixed up. If so would they do 100% of the vaule of the house?

I’m new to the real estate game and don’t want to get caught up in a mess. Any information would be great. Thanks

Aaron,

You need to be able to qualify for the long term loan before you take the HML.
This generally means a 680+ credit score. (I don’t know what the latest number is but get prequalified with your back end lender before you take the HML.)

Mortgage companies have different FICO formulas than the score you can get online from the credit agencies.
Mine is 680 from experian. My mortgage broker ranks it as 780, 778, 740 from the three agencies.

The amount they will loan is usually 70-75% of ARV. With HML they can loan the purchase price and rehab money as long as it’s <70%ARV. The conventional refi will be for the amount the HML loaned as long as a new appraisal supports the 70% ARV once you’ve completed repairs. Check with your HML to find out what percentage of ARV they will loan. Mine in Texas will do 70%.

Pete, Thanks for replying.

I thought one of the main reasons people use hard money is because of there credit? I wouldn’t see any other value to use hard money because you would have to put in 30% and then deal with a high interest rate…But that is why I’m on here, is to learn.