Hagerstown, Frederick or Martinsburg West Virginia, where will you invest in and

I am a newbie to real estate invest, I just graduated from college this last May and got a job in IT. I decided that I want to take control of my future by starting my investment career a lot earlier than most of my peers. I decided to invest in real estate because of its many benefits, support and numerous educational materials available.

I work currently in Germantown, MD and the real estate is rather expensive to get in, so I did my research and found out that Frederick, Hagerstown and Martinsburg WV are areas close by that one can find rather inexpensive deals.

I am starting this forum to get a general idea and input from seasoned investors on this site to get your opinion on whether my decision to look for real estate investment in these areas is a smart idea.

I plan to start with single family homes and then move on to multiunit building. I am also interested in fix-ups and renting them out or fix-ups and rent to own.

I will really appreciate the inputs of investors that know about these areas and their rental income capacity, also please feel free to suggest other areas in MD and its surroundings that you think will work for me.

If i were investing in those areas, I would tell you its not a good idea, so I can keep them to myself. Seriously though, if the numbers work, its a good place to invest. If the numbers don’t work, well move on. I think its a good idea to keep your investments fairly close. It doesnt have to be within 5 minutes of you, but how often are you going to check on a property 5 hours away. Then again if the deal is good enough, and managed right it doesn’t matter how far away it is.