Greetings and Introduction

Hi All!
I’m new to REI (surprise!) and so appreciative of the articles, posts and general help for beginners from the experienced. I can’t say it enough, THANK YOU!

Well, here is my current story and situation…

I’m debt free, currently residing in San Francisco, CA with an eye on eventually moving back to my wonderful home state of NC (Go Duke!). I won’t go into how I ended up in SF, but I will say my plan while here is to save up a somewhat substantial amount of money and return to NC and begin my REI career (though, with all the research I’m doing, I’d say it’s already begun). By substantial I mean 20-30k in a years time or less.

Like many, I’m sure, the idea of creative buying/ leasing terms like “Subject To” investing sounds really…creative and profitable. At the moment I’m not too warm to working with banks, I’ve got a fairly bad credit score (something I’m working on), so I want to use my money to begin with.

So, what advice do our ever so generous experienced investors have for a newbie, like myself? Other than saving and credit work, where should I begin? Where would you begin? I’ll keep reading articles and watching videos, regardless!