Good, low cost, property management software

FYI for all the landlords out there - I have found a good software program for doing property management. I recently migrated from a somewhat fancy Excel spreadsheet I created (lol) to this…and its really cool. I bought it for $89 off Ebay, and it will work with an unlimited # of rentals.

Although not officially “property management” software, I’ve been using Quickbooks for about 7 years. It came in very handy last year when audited by the IRS to give my accountant a copy of the Quickbooks data base because it was software she was already proficient with and she could run reports and follow transactions easily to prepare for the audit.

If set up correctly Quickbooks can keep separate records on each property while still allowing you to see the overall financial health of the business.

Even though I am fairly happy with Quickbooks, I would like to transition to GnuCash (open source double entry accounting software) so I can finally get rid of the last Windows machine on my network.

Quickbooks is superb when it comes to being good accounting software, I agree. But it is reeeeeeeally not fun to use as property management software. =) LOL! I tried it that way, and couldn’t stand it. I need something to remind me when leases are nearly up, need to be able to transfer tenants between properties (e.g. from a 2 bedroom to a 3 bedroom) and see a history of that, among other things … that would be impossible or very painful to do in Quickbooks.

I still like Appfolio and Buildium. Both are relatively cheap, easy to use, and fairly robust.

I use buildium. It sets up a website for advertising and makes professional ads for craigslist, is relatively cheap, and the cloud based portal allows me to log in whereever I am. That’s a big deal for me.

Great posts here - I have a few clients in my outsourcing business that are landlords and we maintain excel sheets for them - Would be a lot easier even with a quickbooks solution! :wink: