Getting real estate license

I know this has topic has been covered in the forum, but I am looking at it from a bit of a different angle.

Ive flipped a couple of houses without a real estate license over the past year or so. I am starting to think that getting a license now makes a lot of sense. For the obvious reason, I would get to keep the sales commission, but more than that Id be able to view a lot of listed fix up houses in person without having a buyers agent present.

I am signing up online to get my license with Hogan school of real estate today, but wanted to see if other investors have got their licenses, largely because of the convenient access to listed houses.

I’ve been a realtor for over 10 years, just put my license in escrow due to the current market conditions. Somehow, in my opinion, the commission does not balance out the fees without you being an investor and making the profit there. Having access to the MLS is the only value.

I’m also a realtor/investor and the MLS is the most valuable, but I also agree it’s very convienient to get access to properties for viewing.

To get the MLS, you have to become a Realtor, not just a RE agent. If that is all that you want out of your license, then it’s not worth the time, trouble, expense, and legal issues that you get for it. Use an agent, don’t become one.