Getting conventional financing for a property in "below average condition"

Hi, I’m a real estate agent trying to help my father inlaw buy a fixer upper/foreclosure. The property will be owner occupied once is fixed. He’s got a mid fico around 740, but will probably have to go stated or no ratio because of a low income and high DTI ratio. The problem we are having is with the lenders not wanting to loan on an below average or even average condition property. We were ready to close on a prop at one point up until the appraisal came in at 40000 more than our purchase price but stating the prop is in “unlivable condition”. The lender(Suntrust) backed out. :banghead
It seems to me that it has to be a way to purchase all these foreclosures out there for the regular folk, given that most of them need work and most would not make a good deal for a “seasoned investor” with cash in place.
I know the answer might be in a small local bank, and I am currently trying to locate one down here in the Atlanta metro area. I’d gladly welcome any advice or reccomendation for a broker or lender. :beer

There are lenders for “retail” financing and lenders for nonretail/commercial financing. You have to get away from the folks doing retail financing because they want the house to be in livable condition.

You are probably going to need to get some form of rehab/construction loan that takes into account the rehab process. COncentrate on lenders who offer nonowner occupied loans - explain the situation. You may have to get a HML to get this done.

Good luck.

Small local banks are always a good option. The problem is that they are definitely going to want to get some income verification. You could always try for a rehab loan, but you will most likely have to come out of pocket for a down payment.

Although many hard money lenders make rehab loans on investment properties, the majorityh of them will not do this for owner occupied properties.