Four Conventional Mortgages - What are my options on future financing

Hi I am a newbie and I just want to say I really appreciate all the great info on this site. I live in the Atlanta area where I own three rental properties. My two most recent purchases have given me a cash flow of one $600 and the other $700 a month. My goal is to purchase a few more to give a nice cash flow to move on to some bigger projects. I have enough equity and cash to purchase one more, but then I am trying figure out what is my next step. I am planning on holding on to them for a few years, so a HML won’t work. There are a few more of the exact properties available which would give me the same type of cash flow. I have read some about portfolio loans, but I don’t know where to get started. I am also interested if anyone has any other options. Thank you.

you can have up to 10 conforming loans, however they will require you to have reserves of 6 months of PITI for all rental properties, and require a 720 mid score,some lenders won’t go over 4, but the rules are 10, so just shop for a different lender

andy

Andy, Thanks. I spoke with a mortgage broker and a big bank and they both told me the limit was four. So that is good news so I will start talking to some other banks.

Look into a commercial loan from a local bank. You can expect to pay a little higher rate and have shorter amortization, but the only limit is what the bank is comfortable with. There also aren’t any rules regarding 6 months of reserves for each of these type loans.

Thank you. Do you need to have a LLC? I have excellant credit and was wondering what they require.

I agree with Justin on using a local bank, my problem is the terms I’ve been quoted, about 1 1/2 points higher rate and only locking in the rate for 2-3 years,scares the heck out of me, I’m really scared of what interest rates might be doing in the next few years,