found new deal, need advice

Hello Everyone,
I found a 2 fam house owner wanted 175k got him down to 163k. Average price of this stlye of home in area is about 170k to 185k. House was purchased for 140k, payment is 1750mth including taxes and PI. Tenants pay 950 and 850. However after talking more with owner he is in foreclosure and owes 30k on property. He has also began bankruptcy preceedings to hold off the forclosure which did work. He is considering a chapt. 7 or 13. I did manage to bind this deal on a contract subject to my partners approval and am considering a sub 2. He did agree to let me take over all payments as long as he does not have to pay anything. However is this a waste since there is no equity in the house and it is in foreclosure 30k deep. Also if he does a chapt. 7 anything in his name will be vanquished and thus our deal. I am new at this and really need some help. Thanks Youngone

Howdy Youngone:

You will not be able to do sub2 while in Chapter 7. The property is part of an estate for the benefit of the creditors. The trustee must sell for cash or new loan. If there is no equity you do not want the hastle of going to court to buy the property.

There is no cash flow either. If this is the best deal you can find send me your money I will lose it for you.

thank you for the advice Tedjr. I will cancel this contract. I however today recieved another call from a motivated seller that wants out, but she owes 170k on her mortgage and had the house on the market for 179k but isagreeing to come down to 170k. The house is a duplex and was said to appraise for 180k, I have to find more comps on it. She tried to sell before but the buyer fell thru. Now heres where I come in. She just wants out “a quick sale” as she said. Should I lease option with this lady since that as I see it is the quickest way to take possesion and then sell, and does this seem like a better deal?
There is not much equity but it’s a start.