Foreclosures bank owed amount

Hello, I’m a very beginner just searching around hoping to buy some good deals for rental. I came up with a few foreclosed houses by banks or HUD, etc.

Is there a way to find out what the last loan outstanding balance was when the house was foreclosed? I’m thinking that would be the bank’s bottom line, and my negotiating point. So, if the house is listing for $150k but the bank was only owed $120k, I could really push for $120? Am I thinking the right thing?

I found on zillow.com there is a last sale price, and the date matches the last deed recording date on the appraisal district website. Is that reliable? Thanks!

Hi Tang,

I am always happy to hear about people starting out in real estate investing, there is certainly enough for all of us, good luck in all your future deals!

The amount owed the bank is generally listed as UPB (unpaid balance), but…I have found that has very little to do with what the banks “bottom line” is.

The best example I can offer is a short sale I successfully completed last week.

The property was in default, (60 days plus past due) but the foreclosure process had not begun yet. I contacted the homeowner and obtained their permission to talk with the lender.
Here is how the numbers looked;

a. Original loan amount due $136,000.00
b. Late fee’s due $786.00
c. Unpaid principal $6790.00
d. Unpaid property taxes $5470.00
e. 2nd mortgage $21,322.00
Total due lender - $170,368.00
The home needs approx. $12k in work to make it a nice livable property. This is a property in a town about 30 minutes from where I live but is on 1 1/2 acres.

This property was appraised last year for $161,000.00

Based on those numbers, what would you offer the lender?

Here is what I did on this deal;