Foreclosure on 2nd question

Hello Everyone,
This may be a silly question, but I am a newbie and I am still learning…so your help is greatly appreciated!

I have come across a nice home that is in foreclosure in California
due to its 2nd mortgage being very behind and will be going to auction in the next couple weeks. What happens to the 1st mortgage?

Also, how many days before the auction do I have still to negotiate with the owner and get the house from them directly?

Thanks in advance!

I had a property go to auction after the second refused to negotiate. Their BPO said the property was worth 350K where there was 65K on the first and 245K on the second.

They really really really thought that it was going to sell to an investor. Nobody bid. Their title insurance paid off the first trust deed (a HELOC that the buyer reopened fraudently after the second funded) and now they own a trashed POS that will cost them 60K… if they are lucky… and will only sell for, right now, about 285K.

If the second forecloses they can only list the house for what THEY are owed and must pay off the first.

We got a auction postponed the day of the auction, but we had been talking to the lendor for about three weeks.

When the trustee’s sale on the 2nd is held the property will be purchased subject to the existing first deed of trust.

The only constraint on time frame for negotiating with the owner is the trustee’s sale itself. Just be aware of the sale date if you do come to terms. The foreclosing lender may or may not be willing to postpone the sale.

Also a factor - depending on your circumstance you may be able to slam dunk a deal in a couple of days (plenty of cash, expertise to do the transaction without title company) or it may take you a month (financing, title).

Thanks guys for the replies!

So if the house is on auction because of the 2nd being in default,