Foreclosure leaseback

Extreme newbie here looking for a little advice. I’m trying to help out a couple in foreclosure with a large sum of equity in the home, somewhere around $50,000. My plan right now is to buy the home from the couple for the redemption amount, and then lease back with an option. I am wondering if there is a way to do this without consideration for the option, as they are low on money and there is so much equity in the home. Also any suggestions in this scenario as far as how much the buyback amount should be for a 2 or 3 year lease in a very slow market in Michigan. Thanks!!

You may want to try posting this in the right forum – the one that says, “Foreclosures”.

my questions are concerning the lease option, hence my post in this forum

Just be sure you know the laws in Michigan re foreclosure consultants as many states are cracking down, especially when the owner remains in the property. Here is a recent case:

The London v. Gregory Decision

In an unpublished decision, the Michigan Court of Appeals upheld a trial court decision declaring that a deed given by an owner in foreclosure would be treated as an equitable mortgage, where the facts indicated the parties had unequal bargaining power and there was inadequate consideration for the conveyance. The case is London v. Gregory, No. 216473 (Mich. Ct. App., Feb. 23, 2001).