food for thought

im kind of new to the realestate business and i was looking for some imput for a question i have…why take out a loan to buy a house rather then leasing to own???

Well, the quick answer is… it depends.

First, is the deal a good deal? Is the market appreciating or depreciating? The strength of the deal and the local market conditions will tell you what your options are.

What kind of financing are you going to use to structure the deal?

Next, do you have someone to lease option the property? If you do, great. If not, then the question is moot.

What’s your investment strategy? Are you looking for long term holds that will grow equity and provide positive cash flow or short term holds that will provide a profit in a relatively short period of time?

I’m sure there are others, but those are just a few off the top of my head.

HTH,

Paul

sasuke,

There are many reasons that is it usually preferrable to get financing to buy a house (especially an investment property) rather than do a lease-option (lease to own). One important reason is that most lease-option sellers will demand a higher interest rate and higher sales price when doing a lease-option than when selling outright. That is because of the risk involved with lease options as opposed to an outright sale.