First time eviction

So I’ve been renting out properties for 5 years now in northwest Arkansas and I’ve been lucky enough to not have to legally evict anyone, but now my luck has run out and I have a tenant who is refusing to leave, won’t be bought out, and is in and out of jail on weapons charges and such.

I have this property under property management and they put up 10 day pay or quit notice last month, and during that time he went to jail so no response. After the ten days, the management company went and changed the locks and started the get ready program. The tenant got out of jail and contacted them and said he wanted his things from the house and they agreed to send someone to supervise him as he cleared his things out. The morning they went over to meet him, they found that he’d jimmy’d the rear door and had broken in and was squatting, refusing to leave, saying that his lawyer said he wasn’t given ample amount of notice to vacate since he was in jail. The management company called the police and the police said that it wasn’t a case of breaking and entering because there was a lease involved so they wouldn’t get involved. I had the management company offer him $500 to vacate and he said no.

So I asked what the procedure was and I was told that first, a lawyer would need to put up a 3 day vacate notice, which I had them do and that didn’t have any effect. So now I’m being told that I need to file an unlawful detainer lawsuit which will cost between $700 to $1300 if everything goes alright, but if he attempts to stay or presents an argument in court, the costs will continue rising from there. I’m already out $1800 from this month and last month and I’d like to stop the bleeding on this one. Anyone know if there’s an easier way than what I just mentioned above??

I don’t think there is any easier way than to follow the procedure, but this whole story pisses me off…