Finding the right property... foreclosure or REO?

I am interested in flipping a home, but am having trouble determining weather I should start by looking for an REO or a foreclosure. I am thinking that an REO would be easier to find, but I am conserned that if the property was even close to being a profitable one, that someone would have snached it up already before it even made it to REO. I admit I am a complete noob… I just started poking around the forums here about a month ago, but I would love some experienced input on this. As this would be my very first investment, and I already have a full time job, I would rather my first be an easy, fairly quick flip. I am a general handyman, so I can do pretty much any household plumming, electrical, drywall, tile, and so forth… I’d be looking at holding the property 3-4 months at a max. So given these basics, is it even worth my time trying to find a property to fit the bill given i’d be paying realtor fees and such?

Thanks,
-J

J,

there is no clear answer for you on this…REO’s and other properties have there own personalities so to speak…you should first define what is a quick flip in your mind and weigh your options interms of what would be easier…Banks are a pain to deal with…unless you have an inside connection with a bank regarding foreclosure you could find yourself spending fair amount of time trying to track down the correct person to help you regarding the purchase of one of these properties…

argent 8)

ThunderChicken,