Finding foreclosures in TX

I’m new to all of this. Have been reading for about a year now and am itching to actually do something. Foreclosures seem a good route but am I correct in asserting that the local papers (DFW) do not publish these in the Legal Notices section of the classifieds? Must I go to the couthouse to actually find these? Preforeclosures seem to be a good way to go but I am not sure exactly where to go to find out about them.

I appreciate any advice anyone could provide. I would also be interested in talking to people working in this area to perhaps pick their brains and get a feel for the market in this area.

Thanks all.

BN

BN,

You don’t have to go to the courthouse and pull the list. There are companies that will do that for you and will send you the list for a montly fee. I don’t know who does it in DFW, but it shouldn’t be too hard to find out. If nothing else, they will be at the foreclosure sale and you can talk to them there.

After you get their list of foreclosures for that particular month you can send everyone on the list a letter or post card. However, be aware that you won’t get the list until a couple of days AFTER it has been published at the courthouse. So the investors that actually go to the courthouse to get the list will have a head start on you.

BN,
In case you haven’t already found it, you could try this link… :dance

http://dfwforeclosures.com/

hope it helps…

Hey Guys, I know there are companies that produce the foreclosure reports monthly but my REAL question is: Can I get this info from the courthouse early and not have to wait until the reports come out? It seems like foreclosure info would be available as the NOD occurs (daily, weekly, etc) rather than having to wait to so close to the sale date. Am I way off base here?

I mean, the guys doing the reports get the data somewhere, right? Are they having to compile the report all at one time or are they putting it together as the NOD occurs during the month?