financing for rehabs

I am a newbie to the rehabbing. have a little capitol saved and looking into this exciting field. one question for the more seasoned investors here…what is the best financing options for rehabs??? oviously your traditional home financing will not work via in some cases you almost pay for a house 2-3 times over w/ interest, not much profit there!!! can you approach a traditional bank about financing for rehabs or are bankers tend to shy away from these types for fear of their bottom line. If someone could give any advice on the most common rehab financing techique i would greatly apprieate it.

Typically you are either going to pay a private lender (family, friends, etc) or find a hard money lender. Expect to pay interest of around 10-12% for private lenders and 12% - 15% for Hard money with 3-5 points. Yes, the interest rate is higher, but you just need to build that into your purchase price.

reiauctions needs a better banker.

you go to the bank and ask for a non owner-occupied mortgage at 6.5% or whatever. ask for a 40 year amort. roll in the closing costs. the idea here is to get the CASHFLOW as low as possible for whatever time you are holding the property. In many cases you can get a loan to cover 90% the purchase price plus escrow for the repairs, meaning little cash out of pocket beyond the 10% down and carrying costs for insurance, utilities, etc.

2-3 times the purchase price in total interest is irrelevant because you are not holding the property 30 years. with luck you will rehab it and sell in 3-6 months. with luck.

Note, FHA has 6 month seasoning requirements for a buyer to use FHA financing to purchase your house.

Go to a small local bank and talk with the commercial lender. A bank with not more than a half dozen branches. You want to be able to talk to a decision maker and big banks do not have decision makers.