Finally feeling the effects of the economy

Not a dime collected today in rent, just flew a trip (I’m an airline pilot) and flew around the country almost empty, and getting calls from good tenants saying they can’t pay. One tell the 8th, and the other tell the 15!

On top of that, my wife found out yesterday that she is being furloughed. She is paid by the state and they are broke according to our governor. Link: http://www.bizjournals.com/charlotte/stories/2009/04/27/daily17.html

I only believe what I see with my own eyes, and up until this point, it hadn’t been much.

John

John,

I think you’re right! Things are STARTING to get worse. People are losing their jobs in great numbers and prices continue to increase in many areas. Businesses are beginning to shut down. Industry is shutting down for weeks at a time.

Having said all that, I don’t think this is a time to worry. The Chosen One says that the worst is over!!!

Mike

It’s all a matter of degrees…We were hours away from a nuclear financial meltdown of our entire banking system. That didn’t happen.
It didn’t happen because the then REPUBLICAN GOVERMENT stepped in and put out a FIRE…They immediately notified banks that MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS would be 100% covered by the full faith of the Federal Goverment. Those accounts were being closed at a rate that was UNSUSTAINABLE to our banking system. They stopped the fire…

NOW…IF…like some people here suggested…they just let it all go???

John… you’d be getting a LOT more phone calls from tenants no longer having money to pay for anything with.

And as romantic as it sounds to JUST LET THEM FAIL!!! I can assure you…The same people screaming for that failure would be screaming even LOUDER when THEIR bank accounts vanished into thin air!!

Let’s be careful what we wish for.