Fees on the HUD 1

Hello All,

I am a new investor starting out in short sales. I got into this because I am a RE Agent that realized there is more money to be made Investing in RE rather that Selling it. I am working with a guy now that has done several ss and he has been putting fees on the HUD 1 for the bank that are not “legit” fees. Basically they just pad his pocket. He is doing this in hopes that the lender overlooks them and pays them. Also on one HUD he put amounts between $400-$800 where the taxes and assessments go. My question is is this common practice or is he crossing a line that he shouldnt be.

In my opinion this should not be done. Its does not feel right. I am all about making money the legal way and I think there is a lot of money to be made that way.

You should safely assume that anything termed as not being “legit” isn’t normal. If I am understanding the situation, can lose his license and go to jail for defrauding the bank/buyer, etc.

Always trust your instincts. You’re right in thinking it’s fraud. Always do business in a ethical way and you sleep better too!

How do you know those fees are not legit. In my neck of the woods taxes and assessments are usually paid for by the seller. Can you give more detailed examples of these fees?
Maybe he is just listing all the fees a buyer normally pays onto the sellers side in hopes that the lender will help pay his closing cost. Also remember that the short sale hud-1 is just an estimate. The lenders know this and if they feel your fees are out of line they will not pay for them.
There is nothing wrong with him loading down the sellers side with legitimate fees. If the lender accepts his offer they obviously know how much they expect to net in the end. That is all they care about, the net. Is he asking for cash back after closing?

Am I missing something here?