Feeling pretty nervous...Am I doing this right?

I’m fairly new to this whole business. I flipped 2 houses last year and bought one rental. I decided to go big this year and I’m feeling strung out and nervous. I’ve got 3 houses I’ve purchased since Jan 1, one back on the market, one goes on next week and one hopefully by the end of the month. In addition, I’ve purchased a rental - tenant barely makes PITI but upside on selling the house in a year is good. We close on two more to flip soon and also a low-end duplex to hold. We have a second mortgage on our residence and on the property that’s on the market as well as numerous charge cards to finance all this. I’m feeling completely freaked out, waking up at 3AM to fret about all of this, etc. Any suggestions on how to calm down? I feel like I’m doing things right, but I’m extremely nervous. Thanks.

I think that you’ve got good reason to be nervous. You are very highly leveraged and have a lot of deals going at once. The bottom line is that you’ve taken on a lot of risk. With high risk comes the chance of high returns (or high losses).

My suggestion would be to slow down a little bit and grow your business in a more controlled manner. This is not a sprint, it is a marathon. Pacing is important and will reduce your risk and increase your chance of long-term success.

You have made a mistake with your existing rental. Buying a rental that barely covers PITI is a HUGE mistake. It sounds like you are betting on a good real estate market in a year, which is a poor assumption in my opinion. Read the other post by someone who speculated and take that lesson to heart. REI should be a sure thing, not a gamble.