expired listings

Hey folks,

Yet another newbie here, how many of you have had any success with direct mailings to owners of expired listings?

In my area there is a lot of houses on the market and 40-50 listings that expire per month.

90% of listings expire due to 1) price or 2) condition. Statistics show they’re usually listed within 7-10 days of the expiration if they actually want to sell. It can possibly be a good niche, but you have to move quickly.

I’ve been able to get pretty good response to my expired listings mailings. I have access to the MLS and here is what I focus on. Listings that expired after 90 days or more, Vacant properties (sometimes it tells in the MLS), properties where the listing indicates motivated seller, and properties where you see large price drops. I think it’s a great strategy because they have been trying to sell, and many are quite motivated when their listings expire.

Many are fast to sign new listing agreements so you do need to move fast. I send out my mailing the day they expire.

Thanks for the responses so far. I have no personal access to MLS (My realtor does this for me) so I am not always getting them on time. I like the idea of “filtering out” the most motivated sellers. by looking at price drops and days on market. Right now I have asked my Realtor to send me (on a weekly basis) listings based on the following criterias:

1. Expired and/or listed for over 120 days
  2. Zipcodes x,y,z etc (My farm areas where I know the comps fairly well).
  3. Any listing with the words, Fixer upper, handyman special etc.

So far I have noticed that I am getting outbid quite a bit by other investors, maybe I am bidding with too much of a cushion for my "
rookie mistakes" but sometimes it seems like people pay almost FMV for really poor houses.

TXRehabber,