estimate the cost of this rehab

I’m a total newbie to real estate investing, I’ve read a lot of books on it, looked at the great info on these and other forums a lot, and I think I need to take the plunge – I can’t be an observer forever. I’m thinking about buying this 3-unit multifamily property:

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0BxXXKGd-POioVXZBS1RBUFRwRFk

It clearly needs to be rehabbed prior to renting out. I’ve crunched the #'s every way to sunday and it should work if the cost to rehab it aren’t too high. I know there are a lot of “it depends” here, and I definitely plan on getting it thoroughly inspected and getting a concrete estimate before making an offer. But I was hoping y’all could help me ballpark total rehab costs? Basic renting level, nice but nothing too fancy – exterior, roof, finishings, landscaping, fence, everything basically. Rural California.

I really appreciate the help,

I wish I could give you a good estimate just by looking at pics, but I can’t. Some people on here use an estimate per square foot. I tend to just look at what needs done and I know most materials cost from my local Lowes store. Are you going to do anything yourself or just hire it all out? To start out, I would make a big list of everything you think you need and go price shopping at Lowes or home depot. At least then you’ll have somewhat of an idea if you talk to a potential worker that they’re not trying to gouge you. I would also try to find someone who can do several different things rather than trying to hire out every different specialty. I think you’ll get better pricing like that. Go shopping and see what price and quality level you want for this job. I try to buy the same stuff for each house. I like standardizing as much as I can. If you drove around my town, you would see all of our houses have the same mailbox post and numbers. I tend to use the same off-white paint for all the interiors too.