Due Diligence Concern

Before I decide to make my offer on this home, a complete inspection and check for possible repairs need to take place. Can I advise the homeowner to have a contractor - I have a list compiled - come out to write a bid for repairs or should I contact these general contractors/handymen myself? If yes, wouldn’t this mean I would have to come out of pocket for these contractors/handymen since the home is not my property? In addition, I have an inspection form, yet I don’t even understand most of the terminology, let alone how to thoroughly inspect a home since this is my first time. Should I hire an inspector for this job? If yes, can I pay them at closing or must I pay upfront once the inspection is complete?

yes you should hire a professional for the job…whether or not the money will come out of your pocket or the seller has to be stated in the contract…i doubt the seller will pay for it…the inspector will have to be paid at completion of their job, and not at closing…it does not matter to the inspector when or if you close or not…but make sure that you state everyting in the purchase contract for the home that you want an inspection done prior to closing, and that if there is damage that will cost you more then $x amount, then you have the option to back out of the contract…good luck on your first deal…o

THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR INPUT, JASON!

hi narmond
i am also a newby. by the way congrats on taking that first step. anyhow i was thinking of doing it just about the same way you r(when i do find a house). it is my opinion that if u ask the owner to hire a contractor to access the damage that this may kill the deal. if it’s a motivated seller they wamt to be done & over with it. but narmond, you shoul try to find an inspector who can also give you an estimate for repairs & he probebly will be able to reccomend some dependable contractors. thats my plan. just my 2 cents. good luck!

Thank you very much for your advice.

Howdy Narmond: