Don't buy it if you can't steal it

To all the beginners on here…
I’m a beginner too, I read a lot of postings written by all the over achievers like me. Don’t be too hard on yourself! I think the most important thing is just to do a little every day to get closer to your goal, whatever it may be. I’m hard on myself because I don’t feel like I’m doing enough, there’s people my age who have a million net worth, tons of properties, and seem to just be amazing. But I’m me and I can only do so much. I know someday I will be a rich real estate investor, but that someday won’t be tomorrow. I have some dues to pay, some mistakes to make and some failures to overcome. In the meantime, I’m going to study everything about real estate because I love it and keep on keeping on. Good luck everyone!

That may be the best advice in the real estate business. “You make your money when you buy” is a corollary. I’ve been investing full time for 6 years and have bought exactly 4 properties. My first was a “good deal” for your standard owner occupied buyer but not much of a deal for an investor. The next three were all what I consider “good deals” for a real estate investor. All were purchased at from 50% to 60% of ARV but all needed significant work. I flipped one after rehab for a $70K profit and added the other 2 to my rental inventory.

I’m always looking for the next great deal but in my target areas deals like this are few and far between and there is a lot of competition from other investors.

Despite having been told by countless real estate agents that purchase at 60% ARV and less “can’t be done”, I know it can because I’ve actually done it. I’ll never pay retail, or near retail again, even when considering a personal residence.