Does this Deal Suck?

I’ve got a seller that’s underwater. He owes 160K The value is 135-140K He don’t want to walk away and let me do a “Sub To” unless I cough up 5 Grand.
Built in 1986 a 3/2 and it’s a good looking middle income house. His renters pay $1,050 and have a year left on their lease. His payments are $800 I’ll find out if that includes PITI, if it don’t that’s a deal breaker cuz taxes and insurance cud easily be $200 a month. But then in 1 year I know I can sell this house with a 7-10K down payment if I want to.
The house sits in a growing area with a nearby prison & Military base, and this house cud easily rent for $1100 or 1200. The prisoners wont be renting but the guards, nurses, teachers and other personal are some high wage earners.
$5,000 is not going to kill me if I lose it, and I don’t want to keep buying crap that don’t appreciate.
My credit is improving, but I can’t show any W2’s for a conventional loan. I’ve been wholesaling for over 3 1/2 years now and I want to build some long term wealth.
Does this deal suck? What would you do?

Rando

Hi Rando,

I don't think I would get involved in this! It is $20k to $25k upside down and your seller insists on an additional $5k forcing this further underwater, and I believe your $800 dollar payment is probable lacking taxes and insurance.

Then you have maintenance and incidental costs to absorb before you get to a point where the tenant leaves and you might be able to sell it. I think it takes 3 to 5 years before price equals value and that’s to far to reach!

Let’s stick to flipping caves and tree stands and selling moonshine to make wolverine and bear skins! Besides you won’t have time for this when we start building canoes and setting up rental TP’s.

GR

Rando, you could spend less than five grand finding any number of low-equity sellers willing to let you take over their payments sub2, AND WITHOUT giving them five thousand, especially in the price range we’re talking about.