Do your tenants know you're the landlord?

Hi, just wondered how those who live in their multiplexes handle this.

I’im considering an triplex, and appreciate the feedback.

Hi Realnew,

This is an interesting question. On my own properties, the tenants know I’m the landlord. But since I am a property manager as my day job, I know how to handle the tenants.

Many of our clients (we manage thousands of units in Puget Sound region) will tell us on their first visit to our offices that their main problem is dealing with the tenants because they (the client) are a push over, a softie. You can not be soft or easy with tenants unless you want to have very serious problems down the road. They have to know you mean business or you will exercise your rights in dealing with them, i.e., eviction if they don’t pay, eviction if they disturb other tenants or destroy your property.

It is a very strict business relationship which requires business behavior. If a landlord can handle this, then there is usually no problem in the tenants knowing who the landlord is. If not, they’d be best to hire a property manager or find another business in which to invest.

Keep in mind however, with access to information now so readily available, it’s very easy to discover who the property owner is with their address and phone number. Even before the advent of the internet, anyone could go to the assessor’s office and find out this information. That’s why they are called ‘public records’. And although many properties are held in Llc’s, you can still find out who is behind them with a little effort.

Hope this helps.

Good luck.

Cate

Agree with everything Cate says.

I’ve been doing for over 25 years and tenants all know I’m the owner. I’m not easy, or tough, but businesslike.