Do YOU think I can get a loan?

Here’s my story:

I am a college student and I have had my RE license since June of 2006. Since I began real estate, I’ve only made 45 - 50k. Real Estate was my first real job

I only have about 10-15k down for downpayment.

I want to invest in short sales. I KNOW i can buy these properties at 60-70% of true market value and I’m passing by lots of screaming deals because I fear I cannot get financed

Does anybody have any suggestions??

Kevin Kim

Kevin,

You stated that you are a college student as well as have a real estate license. You could try and wholesale some properties to make some extra money, but it will be difficult for you to find permanent financing without a history of income.

Kevin,

If your housing payment (rent or mortgage) + liabilities showing up on a credit report are relative low, then you may be able to still qualify with the income you’ve made. If the lender required both years tax returns for income qualification then you’d have about $1,875 - $2,083 (based upon your #s at $45k -$50k divided by 24 months). If going full doc, you may be able to get as high as 60% debt to income ratios. That is the your minimum monthly liability $ divided by monthly income. Some lenders may even allow you to use just 1 years tax return which works out even better for you if 2007 was more than 2006.