Do I need to register as a foreign LLC?

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie here and had a question about setting up my real estate investment business. I’d like to set it up in Delaware or Nevada for the liability/tax reasons, but I will probably be investing mostly in Virginia.

I was reading about registering a foreign LLC, which is required if you are “transacting business”, but the law says that there are specific exceptions, including:

1. Creating or acquiring indebtedness, deeds of trust, and security interests in real or personal property;

2. Securing or collecting debts or enforcing deeds of trust and security interests in property securing the debts;

3. Owning, without more, real or personal property;

I saw this similar language for a few other states as well. So my questions are:

1. Does that mean that if I have a LLC registered in Delaware or Nevada, I do not have to register in Virginia?

2. If so, is that typical for most states?

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

I am sure my friend BLL will weigh in on this one once he see's it! 

If you are strictly just buying the property and placing it in your Nevada or Deleware LLC, this is perfectly ok providing you do not do any business within that state, this being said you would hire a property management company who manages the property, collects rent, pay’s utility bills and provides maintence or contracts subtrades for your benefit. You can not do anything that infers you do business in that state.

Now there is no tax benifit in Virginia as your Nevada / Deleware LLC would still have to file a tax return in Virginia and pay state taxes on earned income (Your net income after all cost’s but before state and federal taxes) and I of course presume you realize you have to pay Federal taxes.

Now your benefit comes in only if your going to keep a large cash reserve in say Nevada and you were going to put the money into a CD, this income would then be state (Nevada) tax free, and of course pays Federal taxes.