Do I have it right? steps to wholesaling REOs

Hello Investors,

I’m just starting out as an investor and want to focus on wholesaling as a starting point. I want to make sure the steps I have listed below for Wholesaling a REO or any property is correct. Can any seasoned investors help me out by taking a quick look at the steps and giving me feedback. It would be greatly appreciated.

1. Find property and have real estate agent make offer (offer is contingent on financing and inspection)
  2. Get an accepted offer
  3. Start looking for buyer
  4. Provide the bank with 1% earnest money and proof of funding (transactional funding) within the required time frame.
  5. Inspect property and start title work
  6. Once I find an interested buyer, negotiate price, collect 1% earnest money, and allow buyer to do his/her due diligence on the property (i.e.: inspection).
  7. Close on property doing a back to back closing.

Am I correct, leaving anything out, or over complicating the situation?

Help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

That’s a fairly good skeleton outline… however, it would take a seminar to fill in the gaps…

Have you studied any wholesaling courses?

If not, I would definitely attempt to get a copy of Ron LeGrand’s wholesaling course. There’s gotta be an inexpensive copy on Ebay. You can fill in the blanks much more efficiently at the same time you seek feedback here.

Let me outline some issues that you need to address…

1, Get to know the REO gatekeeper agents. They are the ones that pretty much dictate if YOU are going to get a deal, or not, or even a chance to bid before stuff gets to the MLS.
2. Your goal should be to get to pre-MLS properties.
3. Agents on craigslist are often advertising these properties.

Some things your competition might be doing…

1. Offering the entire price as the binder/earnest deposit…
  2. Offering no financing contingencies…