Do all tenants suck? What is wrong with these people?

Ok, so I’m new to this. I need some wisdom.

I recently bought a place that is fully occupied and cashflow looks great (on paper). Expenses are 1600/mo and 4 units bring in about 2150/mo. Not bad right?

My first month into the property, only 1 of the 4 tenants paid the rent, 1 other paid a little less than the rent 8 days late, another one only paid half the rent 3 weeks late, and the other just decided to not pay a cent.

Do all tenants suck?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m fully committed to my success as a real estate entrepreneur and I know there are ALWAYS learning experiences and growing pains in any new and worthwhile venture.

I’m just looking for some wisdom.

What would you SEASONED landlords do in this type of situation. What could I have done to prevented this?

Your time and replies are much appreciated.

New and uneducated are 2 different things. Did you do a cash flow analysis on this? U are negative, my friend. 2150 -1600 does not equal cash flow.

1. do more learning. start by searching for posts here on cash flow

2. get Mike Rossi’s book on rentals (propertymanager’s ID) $50 reality lesson.

3. Have and use cash reserves to preserve your credit at the bank.

Rearging the deadbeats,

1. DO NOT accept partial rent. Do NOT accept late rent.

2. EVICT THEM NOW. (well, u may have an issue because monies were accepted.) - Mike will chime in.

Paid 8 days late? no, no, Pay 1 hour late, you’re getting an eviction notice.

CHeck your state’s tenant landlord laws, and if necessary, and likely most cost effective, consult a real estate attorney.

1. SCREEN your tenants. screen them like you’re mining for gold in the old west. Advertise that you do have an application fee. Have them pay it and do that background and credit check.

Unfortunately, you just showed your tenants that they can do what evvvvver they want- i.e. pay late. pay very late.

Continued success.

I am going to purchase Mike’s book.