Dealing with Negativity

I am on my way to purchasing my first multi unit residential property. A friend of mine has several and he is very negative about the whole experience, and not doin well financially. I have ran the numbers on several of the units I want to purchase and although I am a beginner I believe I have found several that will yield great returns with little risk. Deep down I KNOW the reason he is doing poorly is because he bought the properties 3-4 years ago when everything was way overpriced in our area. Prices have dropped significantly and there are plenty of motivated sellers out there. So like I said I know all of this, yet when I hear him describe his experiences I cannot help but be put off a little bit. How do you guys deal with the negativity of your peers and have it not affect your outlook?

A lot of the negativity you hear from new landlords is caused by the shock of dealing with low life people.

The economic status of people who can afford to purchase an apartment building is usually high enough that they have no exposure to drug dealers and welfare cheats. Quite often, they have grown up thinking that people are basically good, if you just give them a chance.

Lying cheatin’ destructive tenants can turn you cynical really fast. You have to learn how to deal with them in order to survive as a landlord.

Losing control of your tenants is a really good way to lose a lot of money.

The tenant pool for apartments tends to be lower quality that that for houses (and the house ones are bad enough). So screening out the bad ones and getting good tenants can be slow and leave you with vacancies for longer periods of time.

You have to know that a vacancy loses less money than you will lose by putting the wrong tenant into your unit. Otherwise, you are in for a miserable experience.