DBA????? (doing business as)

hey yall
what is the difference between a dba and a llc…I want to build my corporate credit. I am a beginning realtor in sa tx…I want to start up my business credit asap.

Howdy Strted@22:

A DBA means doing business as and the taxes are reported on Schedule C of your personal taxes. This form of ownership offers no liability from creditors and is the same as buying in your own name. It is not a separate form of ownership in the eyes of bankruptcy and other courts. An LLC if structured correctly and managed properly can be separated from you personally and thus be shielded from creditors to a greater extent. Credit in the name of the LLC is still hard to obtain unless a member signs personally guaranteeing the loan. The income flows thru LLC and onto the members personal tax forms but is treated differently than a DBA. It is grouped together with out partnership and corporate income and is not subject to self employment taxes.

hi tedjr,
thanx for the reply…can you clarify this statement for me…
(((It is grouped together with out partnership and corporate income and is not subject to self employment taxes.)))
I want to build my corporate credit asap. having a llc w my cell phone under it, can that build my corporate credit?
or purchase a laptop under my llc, can that build my corporate credit? I know I have to personal guarntee it, but I just want to start building my credit.

Start your LLC and you will likely get offers in the mail for Business Credit Cards. You will be personally liable for them, bu that is ok if you are trying to build your credit file. Apply for one or a few of the best offers and then just use them wisely. In no time your credit for your business will be established.

Howdy Strted@22: