Contacting Junker Owners

Hello Everyone,

This website is greal and its content is superb. Im new to real estate investing and im birddoging for for investors here in the Chicago, IL. Ive been at it about 3 weeks now and have compiled a list of about 50 vacant properties including phone numbers when availble. The investors that im birddoging for all want me to contact the owners of the properties i find for a fee of $1000-$1500. What are some of the things i should say to the owners of the properties in order to get the info needed to determine if the lead might have potential.

Hello everyone,

I must be asking a question that people want to keep the answer to secret or something. If I knew what to say to the property owners this would not be a problem and i could ask you guys more advanced questions… but I dont , so this is kind of getting in the way. Im hungry for my first deal so I will get this figured out.

Thanks

Hi dio22. Welcome to the forum. I don’t think that people on this forum are trying to keep secrets from getting out, your question is just pretty general. Look through the Real Estate Articles on this site (link on the left). There is some good information in there that should get you started. If you expand on your question a little after reading the articles, you will probably get more of a response.

Howdy Dio22:

A general question gets a general answer. You are looking for a bargain. You are trying to find the value of the property after the rehab and compare that to the costs to fix the property and the purchase price. If you see a house priced at $50K for instance and it needs $5K in work and you know the house down the street sold for $60K in great shape you have not found a bargain.