Confusion with financing

I am a newbie of sorts and have been reading and soking in the information on this site. I think I have reached overload though because I feel like I am reading contridicting information now.

I have been dealing in what Steve Cook refers to as the outskirts of the combat zones. The ARV’s of most of the properties I look at are around $50 to $80K and usually I see them offered for between 40 to 50% below that and most of them take less than $10K to fix.

My confusion is with financing;
I have read on here that HML’s, banks and other lenders do not like to do residential loans for less than $50K but then I read another post and someone, sometimes the same person that said no is referring an investor to an HML or other lending insitution. Do they or don’t they lend below $50K?

I read another post that advised someone to get an HML for their financing so that they could go into closing with a cash deal and then later read that HML deals are not considered cash deals. Which is it? If it is not what is considered a cash deal when using other peoples money beside a loan from a realative because it would seem to me any other lender is going to want the property as collateral.

my head is spinning and I am looking at some deals that I will need some financing help but I don’t know which way to go now. They are deals like above.

Breathe. Count to 10…

Steve Cook has never been in combat therefore he wouldn’t know what a combat zone is or the outskirts of one and thus would have no business describing such a thing.

Most lenders draw the line at 50k. Some do go lower, most don’t, you’ll just have to look around. It’s not written in stone that a RE lender can’t go below 50k. For significantly lower than 50k, you might have an easier time getting financed if you got a personal loan of some sort just to make your searching a little easier.