Confused about what to do...

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on this website but have been reading everything on here for a long time now.

I am just starting out in rental properties in Illinois purchasing and renting 3flats. The big wall that i seem to be hitting is financing. The question I have is has anyone here heard of, or used an SBA 504 loan?! Like i said I am just starting out and have nothing to begin with not sure if this would be a option for me. So here I am asking the Pros any help would be greatly appriciated.

I look forward to talking with all of you soon.

Thank you,

From what I understand, in order to qualify for a SBA 504 loan, 51%+ of the property must be occupied by the you (the borrower). This will prove impossible if you have a triplex. (3 flats)

A good mortgage Broker/Loan Officer should be able to assist you with the qualifications.

Thank you very much for the quick response!

Have you already purchased a three flat?
Depending on the area you can occopy at least two properties in most states.
I would cut a hole in the top floor and put a winding stairwell leading to the second floor
making it one unit. rent out the first floor and use the rest of the building as my secnd hme address.
then qualify for the SBA 504.

Or turn it into a single family condo and lease purchase it to a potential buyer.
Either way fix it up and refinance it or rent it out.
Depends on the area in Illinios, Illinios market right now is in bad shape
so I would be very careful and remember location location location

Hello: I’m a newbie and trying to work my first deal, and asking if anybody may have some
insight on what to do. I have very little money but have fount a multi family unit, 8 vacant
units, apartments. About half the units are near ready and the other half need some work before renting mostly efficiency units should be in the 375.00-425 range. Asking price
104,900 mortage 100,000, arv 170.000. In a semi good location listed by an realtor