Confused about FHA/short sale/coop pros and cons

I am new to investing and ideally would like to find a place I can rent out or maybe live in one room and rent out the other. I currently rent myself so moving is not an issue.

I have done some reading and some looking at different places in my area and I found one place that seems to be a good deal, its low cost and doesn’t seem to require a lot of repair.

Some concerns is that from the description it says it is a “Coop, FHA approved complex, short sale.”

Some people say avoid coops and others say short sales are great and I have heard mixed things about FHA approved, so overall I don’t know if this is a place I should spend more time looking into.

Some factors
The price has dropped about 30% in the last year (and the value seems to be lower than comparable places)
I have great credit and putting 25% or more down wouldn’t be an issue.

Any pros or cons or other factors to consider would be good. Pointing me to a website that has clear information would also be helpful.

Thanks

Fairfield County, CT

Hi,

Ok, lets start and cover each of your concerns one at a time.
  1. “COOP” or smetimes refered to as a cooperative is much like a condo or townhome except that a COOP is deeded as a group of owners rather than deeded as an individual unit where a HOA would normally manage the properties exterior and land, a COOP is manged as a ownership committee. (A “COOP” is owned by X number of people together all on the property deed according to there unit.)

2. “FHA” is a type of Loan or Lender, it is government underwritten and generally will be owned by Fannie May / Freddie Mac. (Basically the listing realtor has put the property against criteria for FHA underwriting requirements and the property meets the scrutiny and terms and conditions to make a loan.)