Comps and RE Agents

How do most of you handle getting comps from agents? What do you offer them? Most agents do want to work with me unless they are your agent.

Can’t really answer your question because I’m an agent, but I get questions from friends all the time asking about a particular property or they’re just curious about how much someone they knew paid for a property. I just go ahead and send them the info on the basis that maybe someday they’ll send me someone.

I’ve heard of a few agents that make you sign a buyer’s agent agreement, but there’s also lots of other agents out that that don’t do so. Any particular reason you don’t want an agent working for you? The biggest myth out there is that you can somehow get a property for a lower price if you use the listing agent instead of your own buyer’s agent and it’s really not true. The seller signs a contract with the listing agent and they get the full amount of the commission when they sell it themselves. It’s a bonus to the listing agent. Normally they would just split the commission with a buyer’s agent.

Bottom line is that if it’s listed in MLS, you should be working with a RE agent as a buyer, if it’s FSBO, then by all means, don’t sign a contract that makes you pay a commission when you buy.

Thanks henryinma. I see your point. If the listing agent gets the whole commission, Why not use a buyers agent and they can get paid too.

Hi DClark,

Are you planning to get an agent to sell the property?
let’s say in my case…when I will buy the properties to fix and then sell them the agent who will be working with me will get the listing so of course he has an incentive to give me properties and info.

Ang.

Yes, in most case I want an agent to sell the property. I have a meeting with an agent on Wednesday. I’ll see how it goes.

Hello,