Complete newbie: help me understand what I am getting into

I recently got laid off from a law firm. With the legal market being in the toilet right now (there is no demand for corporate lawyers when corporations don’t have the money to buy other companies, and when banks refuse to lend to help this happen), my prospects of getting a new job soon are not good. If I do I will be paid a lot less than I was before. And frankly, I was getting a bit tired of what I was doing.

I have been talking with friends about going into business, and one thing that got mentioned was real estate investment. Specifically, buying a multi family building and renting it out. My hope is that, one day, I will be able to live off the income generated from rent.

I have about $200k in savings that I can use to fund this new potential project of mine. But my issue is that I have no experience at all in the real estate or rental market. What are some good guides that I can get? What are the important steps in starting out?

My view of real estate investment is that there are a lot of scams out there that suck people in with promises of all the money in the world, only to leave them dry and saddled with undesirable property. So I am a bit suspicious. But in my experience internet forums often do a good job of calling the BS out and giving frank, honest advice. I hope this is true here.

I would start with reading a lot of books on the topic.
Understand how to do cash flow analysis. How to calculate PITI etc…maybe even take some of the seminars/courses. Even though some of these courses exagerrate quite a bit, you need some foundation level knowledge before you can even get started.

Derek, with $200K in your pocket and little knowledge in your new venture, you’re treading on dangerous turf. I suggest you do some scouring around for the type of real estate you’re interested in. There are many to choose from, but you can’t know them all right out of the box.