Commercial RE Agents

I am a newbie commerial RE investor and want to establish working relationships with a number of RE agents. First one I came across asked me to sign an exclusive agreement. Is this customary? If so, what is the recourse if I am not happy with my agents?

Unless you want to limit yourself to just one broker for all of your deals, I would not advise an exclusive contract. When I use exclusive contracts I do it on a deal by deal basis. Many of my clients have multiple brokers for a wide variety of projects.

For example. One of my clients has an exclusive contract with me for his Oynx Mine Tracks. This means anything to do with these tracks goes through me. Otherwise I have no interest in his other investments, even in the same industry.

In your situation I would advise working with a number of brokers. Only sign exclusive contracts with a broker that limits them to a single project at a time rather than for all your commercial real estate investments in general. After you have worked with a variety of different brokers you may find that you like working with some over others. After that kind of trust is established you could consider a single broker for all your deals.

Good Luck! :beer

Thanks for the advice. She said the exclusivity allows me to search properties on their own website, etc. etc.

How does one find good commercial RE agents, short of calling every major agencies and ask to speak to their top producers?