Commercial mortgage?

Hi, ive been saving money and working on my credit score for 2 years now.
ive sat down with a couple bankers about getting a single family home to rent out.
my income switched to schedule c last year so i cant seem to qualify for a 30 year fixed mortgage.
One bank offered me a 20% down 20 year loan at 4.75 but it is an a.r.m. where the rate changes in 5 years.
is this a good way to go? It seems im trading cashflow for equity. Since im planning to grab more and more homes, the equity should be good for me to secure more loans in the future??

You can invest the slow, conventional way, or you can invest the fast, unconventional way.

The way you’re approaching this is the slowest, HURDLE-RIDDEN way possible.

Instead of conforming to ultra-safe, less profitable financing strategies, that will take you forever to benefit from, you’d do yourself a favor and learn how to negotiate bargain/SELLER financing for yourself.

There’s an axiom in real estate that many follow; “You give the seller his price, or his terms, but not both.” That is, you must have a bargain on one, or the other.

Let me give you a quick, true story, along with a link to a report I stole from Robert G. Allen that describes how to either bypass a bank, or get financing without a down payment.

No Bank/No Credit Check: I bought two board and care facilities by taking over the seller’s existing loans. I traded a house with equity as a down payment, and the seller took a note for the balance remaining. I got in for no upfront cash. Could you do this on a house by offering the seller 10% down and taking over his existing loans, and creating a note for the balance? Yes.