Commercial apartment buildings?

Hey guys.

I noticed a few aprtment buildings with 9+ units for sale in my area. I don’t have any real info on them. I have been studying RE investing fo r about a year. I have no experience in REI. Is it possible for me to purchase something like that? They’re asking like $300k to 400k. I don’t have much money for a down payment and I feel that getting financing will be tough. I would have a property management company handling the property. Any thoughts?

NO.

The unfortunate truth is that noone is going to lend you around 300K w/o any sort of experience, no matter how good the deal is. :banghead

Hi:

Cutting to the chase:

1st MORTGAGE: Most commercial lenders will loan 70-75% LTV. Some go as high as 90%.
2nd MORTGAGE: The remaining balance hasto come from either the YOUR wallet(or equity in another property) or Seller maybe gives you balance as a 2nd mortgage.

FINANCIALS:

You will need a DSCR of 1.2 or greater to get the 1st MORTGAGE.
(The DSCR is Debt Service Coverage Ration, is is the NOI/TotalLoanAmount).

DCR (Debt Coverage Ratio) = NOI/Total Yearly Payment

Forget the DSCR! If you find a property that will cash flow with real world numbers, the DSCR, cap rate, and all that other hocus pocus will take care of itself.

Mike

Well I figured it could be a long shot at best. I may find some some lenders to get in on this deal. I have to at least prove I can manage smaller rental properties first. Who knows. if I can find a reputable property management company to run thngs, it may be possible. After all, I’m sure there are many invstors that own apartment buildings that don’t deal with the day to day issues. When/if that time comes, is it better to find local commercial lending or look to private lending?

With all do respect Mike stick to residential… You haven’t a clue…

Sean,