College Student looking to get started! Any tips?

I am fairly new to real estate, and would very much like to figure out how everything works. I am all about learning and besides my own research would like to hear about your experience and ideas!
What are your best suggestions on how I can gain experience with Real Estate investing while at University?

Invest in some real estate investing training. Become an expert at ONE strategy and work that strategy until you’re successful at doing that one strategy. I’m not sure it makes any difference what strategy you start with, as long as you’re willing to start.

Of course, it makes more sense to focus on a strategy that dovetails with the current market conditions.

When I first started, the market was flatter than a pancake and the investor psychology was lethargic. It was relatively easy to buy and there was less competition. It was a long term play with fairly quick cash-flow for me.

If the market is falling, it’s even easier to find and negotiate deals with motivated sellers, and the competition more or less sifts down to the professionals and sophisticated die-hards. The amateurs disappear into the mist.

If the market is hot, it attracts every “me too” Tom, Dick and Harry with a real estate seminar under their belt, driving prices higher, and making it ever harder to negotiate something sensible, and not dependent on fast appreciation speculation, etc.

So, you need to know your market conditions.

If you want to bypass most of the competition, and speed up your investing, learn how to creatively finance real estate. If you PM me I’ll send you a version of Robert Allen’s “No Down Payment Formulas” that will show several dozen ways to structure financing without coming up with any money, or none of your own money to finance real estate.