Closing was cancelled due to the seller fault…how to get my invested money back?

I am a beginner investor so I do not fully understand all the liabilities with RE transactions and I will appreciate any advice or suggestion on my problem.
I made an offer for a house and the offer was accepted. The purchase agreement was signed by me(buyer) and the seller and everything looked good. So I started the process of mortgage origination with my mortgage broker. I ordered inspection for the house and the house didn’t have any utilities turned on because the seller couldn’t afford it so I turned utilities on and payed for inspection. And then I order appraisal on the house so during the period of time when the house was “pending sale” I invested around $1500 dollars. Few days before the closing my title agent told that house started foreclosed process because the seller didn’t pay mortgage for a few month. And then she (my title agent) started to negotiate the deal with the foreclosing atterney and closing was rescheduled a few times. So at the end bank (that has a lien on the house) needed another 1-2 month to verify the seller personal information (bank statements, w2 and etc) before they decide if they agree to sell the property(the seller had overall debt on the house around $4000 – including mortgage payments and taxes). I decided to cancel this deal because it has been over 3 month going back and forth with the house and I cannot pay utilities for the house that is not mine. Anybody can advice: can I start any legal action to get my invested money back? Any ideas?

Thanks

the questions are:

1. what did the contract say regarding timing of closing?
    1a. what did the contract say regarding these expenses if the deal doesn’t go through?
  2. did seller actually breach any provisions of the contract?
  3. did you waive any rights by breaching the contract and withdrawing purchase offer?

whatever was written in the contract is what the parties should do.