Clarification on lease with option to buy

Hello, good day to all, i am a novice investor and i would like to obtain some clarity in regards to the dynamics of the lease with option to buy.

1. I have read that you should obtain a large non refundable fee (similiar to a security deposit ) as earnest money for option to purchase
    In addition my second inquiry is that if i receive option money of $1800 for 12 months and the renter/potential buyer opts to purchase the home, is it mandatory for the option money to get subtract from the sales price
    (Eg. If the sales price of the home is $290000, would the new sales price be $268400)
    Note: The lease with option to buy purchase would be for the duration of one year.
    Thank you all for your considerations and feedback

If your contract states that option money will be applied to the purchase price, then yes.

$1800.00 is a small amount for option money. Is the area hot?

Hi,ScorpioGirl, the numbers that I presented were hypothetical, according to your respsonse, correct me if I am incorrect, the option money unless mandated in the contract does not have to be deducted from the sales price…, thank you for your response, also this question maybe foolish, but can you set up the lease option contract or add an addendum stating the if the person opts to purchase the property, that the option money is not guaranteed to go towards the purchase price? or would this suggestion basically violate the premise on which as Lease with option to buy contract is based???
Also i guess i explained my self wrong what i meant by option money in the prior post i meant monthly payment to myself or my business entity?? the $1800 hypothetically would be monthly payment??
One more question, how much Option money should you accept on a lease to option contract
should it be the equivalent to 2-3 month mortgage or rent payment(similiar to a security deposit) or would asking for this amount be too excessive)