Challenge to PROFESSIONALS

Hi:I am new to real estate investing and need some professional help or ideas to create some cash flow and equity. I have an opportunity to acquire a commercial property in a small town. Asking price is 250,000.It is 3 units;a barber shop, a clothing store, and a residential apartment. The owner(my barber) has indicated his intention is to pay off his house mortgage (180,000 or 1500 per month payment) with the proceeds of the sale. The apartment rents for 700 and the other tenants (barber and barbers wife)would like to stay and carry on their businesses. The taxes are about 4800 per year and insurance is about 1200 per year. I would hope to pass on utility costs to the tenants. I have some ideas and I have asked some others what to offer but have not been satisfied with their input and so I am trying out this forum as I have realized recently that there are some great things happening here. WHAT TO DO?

Dewey,

This is little more complicated than a simple commercial building or a simple SFH rental. Additionally, you did not provide sufficient information in your post.

What are the gross rents for the commercial units?

What kind of leases do the commercial tenants have? Do they have a residential type lease where the owner pays taxes, insurance, maintenance or do they have a NNN lease. “Hoping” to do anything is irrelevant. Who do the leases say will pay for the lease? How long have the commercial tenants been in the building? How is the demand for commercial space in your city?

We need the answers if you want an intelligent answer.

Good Luck,

Mike