Challenge for you

Hello,
I have a challenge for you to apply your minds to. I live in Northeast Montana ( many miles from anywhere ). I am a farmer with a lot of equity and some cash available. I am interested in real estate investing. Over the course of the last year or two I just keep being drawn back to it. We have invested in a development and a large apartment complex as a minority share. I don’t want to expand my farm ( and add more work, I work hard already and enjoy what I do), and I want to diversify into RE, and have my equity and money work for me.

The challenge is this: I don’t want to leave my farm. I believe that REI is possible from here and I know that many of you invest in more areas than just your immediate vicinity. There are many who post on this site that seem quite capable of creative problem solving. I am willing to travel some and I am a hard worker and a fair manager.

If you were going to do REI from NE montana, how would you go about it? What areas would lend itself to this? Is part of the answer to have a “team” as the gurus call it on my cell phone speeddial?
I have lots of ideas, but would love to hear yours.

Thanks

DB

split your land into lots and sell them on ebay for 10 times what they’re worth.

it seems there are a lot of foolish people wiling to part with their hard earned money!

Niravmd,

I happen to live in the last best place.( no one interested ina few acres of flat land far from anywhere ) :slight_smile:

Thanks for replying, though, I remember from some of your other posts that you invest far from home. Utah, isn’t it? How do you make it work? Do you have to travel a lot, or how did you get the people in place that you can trust?

my reply to you was tongue-in-check.

like someone said, you need to kiss a lot of frogs to find a prince.
you definitely need someone competent that you can trust
when dealing far from home.
i tried to look for someone who was willing to look beyond the