CCIM designation vs guru training

Hi all,

I am a business owner that is looking to diversify and start to put some earnings into commercial real estate and have begun to educate myself in commercial real estate. I have taken several courses from CCIM and am planning to continue to do so. I just wanted to tell people my experience because I see a lot of people on here asking ( including myself several months ago ) about different gurus or organizations that teach this stuff.

I am finding CCIM to be very professional and geared to teaching not sales. They are very thorough in working you through the principles of understanding these investments. It isn’t cheap, but not as bad as some gurus courses either, and it is a professional designation. To earn the designation, they have to have an extensive portfolio, so these are people that actually do, not just talk.

So if anyone is looking for this kind of education, I thought I would share what I found.

Good luck,

DB

Thanks for posting this. Since this is a professional designation that Realtors can earn and list with their other designations, I wouldn’t think of CCIM as gurus. Let us know how it turns out!

d_sbrown-what are the qualification for taking the CCIM courses? I just got my RE sales license recently and was wondering if I’m eligible to take some of these courses. if so, where would I begin? thanks for the info.

Jake,

There are no qualifications to take the courses, other that paying the tuition. I am not even a realtor and have no licenses, just an investor. The qualifications come in if you are trying to earn the designation.

Check out www.ccim.com

their site has all the info.

I started of with their two day intro class, and then took CI101. I will be taking 102 in June.

DB